Three things we set out to verify turned out to have moved since they were widely written up: HSBC Expat's minimum is no longer £50,000, Standard Chartered's Jersey business is open and taking clients, and Citi retained rather than exited the UAE. Each of those still appears in guidance published elsewhere, which is the reason to work from the banks' own current pages.
What follows is what the three banks state on their own websites as at today, with the gaps marked as gaps.
The three propositions
| HSBC Expat | Standard Chartered Jersey | Citi | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Booking centre | Jersey | Jersey | Singapore (for UAE clients) |
| Entry level | £75,000, or Premier + £10,000 | USD 100,000 | USD 200,000 |
| Upper tier | — | USD 2,000,000 (Private Banking) | Citigold Private Client (threshold not published) |
| Account currencies | USD, EUR, GBP | 25 currencies | 21 currencies |
| UAE residents accepted | Eligibility criteria apply; no country list published | Yes | Yes, stated explicitly |
| Portability stated? | Yes, explicitly | No | No |
| Fee if you fall below | An underfunding fee — amount not published on any web page | Private Banking: USD 750/quarter below USD 2m | Not published |
HSBC Expat
The entity is HSBC Bank plc, Jersey branch. The domain is expat.hsbc.com — the older hsbcexpat.com address turns up in a lot of published guidance and is not where the current terms live.
Eligibility, in HSBC's own words on the account page: "To qualify for HSBC Expat, you'll need to meet one of our criteria on either investments/savings of £75,000 or already be an HSBC Premier customer and have at least £10,000 to save or invest with HSBC Expat."
Separately, HSBC's account-opening FAQs state that once the account is open you will need to place funds into it within three months "or it may be closed". That is a funding deadline rather than an ongoing balance condition, and the two are worth keeping apart.
Two things follow. The figure is £75,000, not the £50,000 that appears in guides written before the change. And the qualifying-salary route, where a sufficient annual salary paid into the account substituted for the balance — does not appear anywhere on the current site. If you were counting on it, check before applying.
HSBC Expat does not publish a list of eligible countries of residence that we could locate — its non-resident accounts page says only that eligibility criteria apply. There is a country list elsewhere on the site, but it belongs to HSBC's general overseas account-opening service rather than to HSBC Expat, and it does not cover every GCC state. If your residence country matters to the application, ask before you start it. Accounts are held in USD, EUR or GBP, with fixed term deposits available in what HSBC describes as "a choice of 19 currencies".
Portability is the reason to look at this one. HSBC states it plainly: "Set up your account in USD, EUR or GBP and no matter how many times you move, your account with us stays the same." That is a published commitment rather than an inference, and neither of the other two makes it. The obvious qualification is that it is bounded by the eligible-country list — it survives a move to another eligible country, which is not the same as surviving a move anywhere.
Deposit protection is the Jersey Bank Depositors Compensation Scheme, "up to £50,000". That number is unrelated to the old £50,000 minimum and it is easy to conflate the two, so it is worth holding them apart deliberately.
What we could not get. HSBC says "You may be charged an underfunding fee if you don't continue to meet the eligibility criteria" and does not state the amount on any HTML page. The tariff of charges is published as a PDF on HSBC's own domain, but that path is disallowed by HSBC's robots.txt and we could not retrieve it. A copy circulates on a document-sharing site; that is a third-party republication and we have not treated it as HSBC's figure. Transfer fees, ATM charges and the FX margin sit in the same document and are unverified for the same reason.
Standard Chartered
The Jersey business is open and taking new clients. sc.com/je carries a live account-opening flow and no closure notice, which settles a claim we have seen repeated several times.
Standard Chartered's about-us page for Jersey sets out two tiers in its own words: "Private Banking services to customers with over USD2,000,000 to invest" and "International Banking services to customers with over USD100,000 to invest". The USD 100,000 figure is corroborated by a Priority Banking brochure that specifies a "Minimum account opening balance of $100k on day 1 or clear account plan to grow balance in the first 6 months", though that brochure carries a 2015-vintage reference code, so the about-us page is the citation to rely on.
A naming inconsistency worth flagging: the about-us page calls the USD 100,000 tier "International Banking" while the brochure calls the same threshold "Priority Banking". Standard Chartered's own materials are not consistent about it, so we have used the figure and described the tier as the current page does rather than asserting the two labels mean the same thing.
Accounts are available in what SC describes as 25 currencies, with debit cards in USD, GBP and EUR. The Jersey branch is regulated by the Jersey Financial Services Commission and participates in the same Jersey scheme, with one detail HSBC's page omits: total compensation is "capped at £100,000,000 in any 5 year period". That systemic cap sits above the per-depositor £50,000, and rarely gets a mention.
HSBC Expat publishes a document list in its account-opening FAQs — "A valid identification document, such as a current passport" and "Proof of address, such as a utility bill issued within the last 4 months". Standard Chartered's Jersey account-opening form takes a different approach, asking for the form to be returned together with "the supporting documents that we may require" rather than setting out a checklist in advance.
A trap in the fee schedule. The retrievable Standard Chartered Jersey fee document is the Private Banking schedule, effective 1 May 2025 — USD 750 per quarter where the value of the assets falls below USD 2 million on a three-month average, and a USD 50 charge per request, amendment, cancellation, refund or stop payment, alongside free online payments and spot FX quoted as a 0.10% to 1.00% range. Those figures belong to the USD 2 million tier. Do not apply them to the USD 100,000 International Banking tier. A separate Jersey Priority fee schedule is referenced by the current-accounts page and we could not locate it.
On the UAE side, Standard Chartered publishes Priority Banking eligibility three ways: a minimum monthly salary transfer of AED 30,000, a monthly average balance of AED 370,000 across one or more accounts, or a mortgage balance of AED 2,500,000 or more. Read the second one carefully — it is an average balance maintained month to month, not a one-off funding amount, which is a different commitment. The salary route also carries a condition worth noting: it applies for the first twelve months, after which eligibility has to be met another way. Priority Private is published separately and sets out its benefits without stating a minimum relationship balance, salary or deposit — the thresholds above belong to Priority Banking.
Standard Chartered makes no portability statement anywhere we could find. What it does publish is the architecture: its UAE Priority Private page describes access "through four booking centres, including Singapore, Hong Kong, the United Arab Emirates and Jersey". A Jersey account is jurisdictionally independent of UAE residence by construction, but that is an inference from how the group is built, not a promise the bank has made.
Citi
Citi did not exit the UAE. The opposite happened, and it is stated in Citi's own press release of 25 October 2021: the bank would "refocus its Global Consumer Bank presence in Asia and EMEA on four wealth centers—Singapore, Hong Kong, the UAE and London". The UAE was named as one of four markets Citi was keeping.
The GCC exit was Bahrain, sold to Ahli United Bank and completed on 1 December 2022. We looked specifically for a First Abu Dhabi Bank acquisition of a Citi UAE consumer business, because that claim circulates. Citi's completion releases name every buyer — UOB, Axis Bank, DBS, UnionBank, Ahli United Bank, and FAB appears nowhere. There was no such sale.
Citi's UAE presence today is Citibank N.A. – UAE branch, registered with the Central Bank of the UAE under three licences and also licensed by the UAE Securities and Commodities Authority.
Citigold UAE requires, in Citi's words, "a minimum balance of USD 200,000 (or its equivalent in other currencies) across cash, deposits, and investments", with "no monthly service fees or charges for maintaining a Citigold relationship in the UAE". Note what that sentence does and does not say: it covers maintaining the relationship, and it is silent on whether anything is charged if the USD 200,000 is not maintained. We have not inferred a shortfall fee. The Citigold Private Client threshold is not published.
For the offshore piece, Citi's UAE page points at Citi International Personal Bank and states a minimum balance of USD 200,000, adding that "Offshore banking may be suitable for UAE residents, expats, and internationally active individuals, subject to eligibility and regulatory requirements". The booking centre named for UAE clients is Singapore — London and Jersey do not appear on the UAE-facing page. There is also a Citi IPB London page stating a generally applicable USD 200,000 minimum with the UAE among roughly 27 eligible countries, but that page carries legacy URL structure and no timestamp, so treat it as published with uncertain currency.
Like Standard Chartered, Citi makes no portability statement. A Singapore booking centre open to UAE residents survives a departure from the UAE by design, but Citi does not say so.
What they ask a UAE resident for
HSBC Expat publishes a short list in its account-opening FAQs, set out above. Standard Chartered asks for supporting documents it may require rather than naming them in advance. Citi does not publish a list for IPB on the pages we checked.
Emirates ID, residence visa and salary certificate are not named as requirements by any of the three on their own sites. Those are what UAE onshore banks typically ask for, and it is a different question — worth keeping separate rather than assuming the offshore requirement is the same.
An offshore account is a reporting product
All three collect tax-residency self-certification, and Standard Chartered names the actual forms — CRS, W8BEN or W9BEN. HSBC Expat states that it must "identify and report all affected customers to the Jersey tax authority" annually, and that the data is shared onward to "authorities in each relevant tax jurisdiction". It adds the sentence that settles the point: "As an expat you're responsible for reporting your own income in any location where you've tax obligations."
The UAE has been live on the Common Reporting Standard since 1 January 2017, and its FATCA agreement with the United States has been effective since 1 July 2014. Jersey, Singapore, Hong Kong and the UK are all participating jurisdictions.
So: an account in Jersey or Singapore is a reporting product, not a secrecy product. That is a factual statement about how the accounts work, and it is the reason to be clear-eyed about why you are opening one.
The question most people are actually asking
Does the account survive leaving the UAE?
HSBC Expat: yes, and it says so — bounded by the eligible-country list. Standard Chartered: no published statement, but a Jersey account inside a four-booking-centre group is structurally independent of UAE residence. Citi: no published statement, but IPB Singapore is a non-UAE booking centre explicitly open to UAE residents.
So one bank has put portability in writing and two have built structures that produce the same result without describing it. Those are different kinds of assurance, and the difference only becomes visible at the moment you need it.
EW+ View
The three entry levels — £75,000, USD 100,000, USD 200,000 — sort themselves fairly clearly, and for most Gulf expats the practical question is which one they clear rather than which one they prefer.
What is more striking is how much of the cost side sits outside the published material. One bank's underfunding fee is in a tariff document rather than on a web page. Another's retrievable Jersey fee schedule covers its private banking tier rather than its entry tier. The third does not publish a private-client threshold, or state what applies if a balance falls below the standard one. And none of the three publishes an FX margin — which, for an account whose purpose is holding several currencies, is likely to be the largest charge you pay.
If portability is the reason you are looking at one of these, note that only HSBC Expat states it as a published commitment. The other two book the account outside the UAE, which produces the same practical result, but they do not say so, and what a bank has written down is the part you could point to later. That is a distinction to weigh yourself, not a ranking of the three.
Common questions
HSBC states that you need to meet one of its criteria on either investments or savings of £75,000, or be an existing HSBC Premier customer with at least £10,000 to save or invest with HSBC Expat. Separately, its account-opening FAQs say funds must be placed into the account within three months or it may be closed. The £50,000 figure that appears in older guides is superseded, and the qualifying-salary route no longer appears on HSBC's site.
No. sc.com/je is live with an account-opening flow and no closure notice. Standard Chartered publishes two Jersey tiers: International Banking at over USD 100,000 and Private Banking at over USD 2,000,000.
No. Citi's press release of 25 October 2021 named the UAE as one of four wealth centres it was retaining, alongside Singapore, Hong Kong and London. The GCC exit was Bahrain, sold to Ahli United Bank and completed 1 December 2022. FAB did not acquire a Citi UAE consumer business — no such sale took place.
Citi's UAE page states offshore banking "may be suitable for UAE residents, expats, and internationally active individuals, subject to eligibility and regulatory requirements", with a USD 200,000 minimum. The booking centre named for UAE clients is Singapore. London and Jersey are not mentioned on the UAE-facing page.
HSBC Expat states it plainly: "no matter how many times you move, your account with us stays the same", bounded by its eligible-country list. Standard Chartered and Citi make no equivalent published statement, in both cases the account is booked outside the UAE and is therefore structurally independent of UAE residence, but that is an inference from the architecture rather than a commitment from the bank.
All the Jersey accounts fall under the Jersey Bank Depositors Compensation Scheme, which HSBC describes as protecting eligible depositors up to £50,000. Standard Chartered's account-opening form adds that the maximum total amount of compensation is capped at £100,000,000 in any five-year period. That £50,000 is unrelated to HSBC Expat's former £50,000 minimum balance.
Less is published than you would expect. HSBC says an underfunding fee applies but does not state the amount on any web page. Standard Chartered's retrievable Jersey fee schedule is the Private Banking one — USD 750 per quarter below USD 2 million, effective 1 May 2025, which does not apply to the USD 100,000 tier. Citi publishes no shortfall fee. None of the three publishes an FX margin.
Next steps
- Work out which entry level you clear before comparing anything else, that decides the shortlist.
- If portability is the reason you are opening the account, ask each bank in writing what happens to it when your UAE residence ends, and keep the reply.
- Ask directly for the fee schedule that applies to your tier, not the one on the website, at two of the three, the published document covers a different tier.
- Ask what the FX margin is on a currency conversion in your account. None of the three publishes it, and on a multi-currency account it is likely to be your largest cost.
- Complete the tax-residency self-certification accurately. These accounts report; that is how they are designed to work.
Further reading on ExpatWealthPlus
- HSBC Expat from the UAE
- Wio or HSBC Expat
- Premium and private bank accounts in the GCC
- What happens to your UAE bank account after you leave
- FATCA and CRS for UAE expats
Official sources
Every figure in this article is checked against the primary source. These are the places to verify the current position for yourself, since rates, rules and product terms change.
- HSBC Expat — eligibility criteria →The £75,000 and Premier-plus-£10,000 routes, in HSBC's own words
- Standard Chartered Jersey — about us →The USD 100,000 and USD 2,000,000 tiers
- Standard Chartered UAE — Priority eligibility →AED 30,000 salary, AED 370,000 balance or AED 2.5m mortgage
- Citi — Global Consumer Bank strategic actions, 25 October 2021 →The four wealth centres Citi retained, including the UAE
- Citigold UAE →The USD 200,000 minimum and the no-monthly-fee statement
- UAE Ministry of Finance — AEOI, FATCA and CRS →CRS live from 1 January 2017; FATCA from 1 July 2014